Articles by William Francis
DUI / DUII Attorney
In most DUI cases, the potential penalty that causes the most anxiety is the loss of driving privileges.
The economic effects of a license suspension are immediate and harsh.
The problem is made worse by the fact that, typically, there are two, separate cases pending when a DUI is charged.
There is a DMV license suspension under the Oregon implied consent laws. This is an administrative matter.
There is also the suspension of driving privileges that is added to a person's sentence when they are convicted of DUI.
Either one of these proceedings -- or both of them -- could end in a driver's license suspension.
If you gave a breath sample of .08 percent breath alcohol content, or above, or if you refused a breath, blood or urine test, the police probably gave you a paper called an "Implied Conset Combined Report." This document advises you that DMV intends to your license for at least 90 days. Refusal to submit to a breath, blood or urine test may result in a license suspension of one year.
If there are any alcohol-related entries on a person's driving record in the previous five years, the one-year suspension increases to three years.
Suspension on conviction for a first offense results in a one-year suspension in Oregon. Court-ordered suspensions are separate from, and in addition to, any DMV-ordered suspension.
The suspension period on a second DUI conviction is three years.
A third DUI conviction will result in revocation of all driving privileges for life.
A person may apply for reinstatement of driving privileges that have been revoked for life after 10 years.